Combatives Training

One thing I’ve never done in the Army is get trained on hand-to-hand fighting.  We spent a day at the gym getting this training.  It was mostly wrestling skills, and honestly I don’t think I’d ever use anything I learned if someone were to jump on me.  But it was a fairly interesting day.  They call it US Army Combatives.  It’s based on Jujitsu. 

Here are the photos.

LTC Thomas survived.

A couple more from weapons training.

A few days ago, we went out to fire the M-203 grenade launcher.  We used practice rounds, which means that they fire off just like regular rounds, but only leave chalk markers on the targets.  It was the most fun I’ve ever had at any Army weapons range.  Some people were quite good.  I managed to get a few rounds through a window at 100 meters, and even hit a target 200 meters away.  Here are the pics.

Having too much fun!  (note my hand is in the wrong place — right in the breach of the grenande launcher!)

Thanks to MSG Dickerson for emailing these photos to me!  She’s an army photographer….